About

Mitigate Roadkill, Citizen Science, Environmental Education, Cherish Life

Unlike the common research-oriented beginning of other Citizen Science projects, Reptile Road Mortality (Taiwan Roadkill Observation Network, http://www.facebook.com/groups/roadkilled/ ) originated from a Facebook group of concerned citizens created in August 2011. Due to the power of social media networks, our group members come from a variety of locations, academic backgrounds, and do not come from any particular group, association, or academy. Most members of our community are not acquainted with one another. More interestingly, this was not an intentionally planned Citizen Science project. Rather it was gradually established through discussions and consensus among members. The current appointment of main staff that operates the website, our goals, information-collecting SOP, software tools for back-end use, database platform and this particular website, were all achieved step-by-step under cooperation and numerous adjustments and revisions.

The primary mission of Reptile Road Mortality is to set up an eco-friendly path to mitigate roadkill challenges. We have four main tenets guiding our organization. Our overarching goal is to 1. Mitigate Roadkill. The following three goals are developed based on this main tenet:  (2. Citizen Science) We aim to popularize national discourse on such environmental issues and civil participation in scientific research. (3. Environmental Education) Additionally, we will encourage citizens to mitigate roadkill as the first step in fostering lifelong ecological interest  and conservation action. (4. Cherish Life) Last but not least, we establish the concept that all life and species are valuable and we encourage participants to help collect and send roadkill specimens to our lab for preservation . This allows these animals to be used for future studies, making greater value of the loss of life. 

                                      ​ ​

After many years' of data collection, there is an interesting and valuable discovery that shows most of the roadkill data distributed over cities and lowland forests (mountain area) is in suburbs. These are usually  eco-failure zones (destruction areas) rather than government’s key protected areas such as national parks, wildlife refuges, reserves or water source protection zones.  These locations have been neglected and are extremely lacking in ecological data. Findings of Reptile Road Mortality are important because they help make up for the shortage. After long-term observation, many participants realize the astonishing amount of animals living intheir surrounding areas, including endemic species and protected animals and rare species, but they just never saw them alive. Despite the shock of roadkill, Reptile Road Mortality has successfully engaged a large and diverse crowd. Many are citizens who do not belong to any actual ecologogical or environmental group or field of study. Rather than silently passing roadkill, they are now able to take action as contributors of scientific researchand are advocats for environmental issues, sharing theseconcepts with their friends and families.

Roadkill specimens and data collected by Reptile Road Mortality have been the main source for the monitoring of rabies in the country, showcasing the invaluable nature of the group. It not only helps the government save a huge economic sum through reducing the need for sampling in the field and monitoring, but has also become a significant and reliable monitoring program for the condition of the rabies epidemicfor making policy. (For more information, please refer to our Campaign: Monitor of Rabies)

Moreover, in cooperation with Bureau of Animal and Plant Health Inspection and Quarantine and the Institute of Wildlife Conservation of National Pingtung University of Science and Technology, the “Investigation of Toxic Birds in Farmland” was carried out in 2015. By sampling specimens and keeping records of suspected poisoned birds, we investigated the association of crops, types of pesticide, and damage to wildlife to inform domestic regulations of specific pesticide usage, decreasing the occurrence of environment poisoning.

In the future, Reptile Road Mortality will focus mainly on mitigating roadkill. Via collected information, we will identify roadkill hot spots, seasons of high roadkill occurrence, andeffects of roads on threatened species. We invitelocal citizens to take part in the work of mitigation in person.(Read more: Green Island Metasesarma Aubryi Rescue Mission)  This allows citizens to gain understanding and care for the environmental around them, and empowers citizens to participate in the health oftheir own environment.In cooperation with bureaus such as the Directorate General of Highways, research from this program provides the Taiwanese government with the ability to carefully consider future development projects for a future with friendly roadways for pedestrians, drivers, the environment, and wildlife.

關於路殺社

全民科學、改善路死、環境教育、珍惜生命

有別於一般常見的公民科學(Citizen Science)計畫,路殺社(https://www.facebook.com/groups/roadkilled/ ,全名「臺灣野生動物路死觀察網」Taiwan Roadkill Observation Network)的組成背景和起源很不同!路殺社是2011年8月於臉書平台所創建的虛擬社團,成員全部依靠臉書強大的社群關聯能力,吸引關心此一議題的人加入,社團成員來自四面八方、各式各樣的職業類別與人才,並非來自特定的實體社團、協會或學會,大部份成員彼此之間並不認識。更有趣的是此公民科學計畫並非事先規劃、設計好才開始著手執行,而是在社團創建之初透過社員彼此討論和凝聚共識後逐步成型,包含目前社團維護的主要團隊組成人員、目標宗旨、資料蒐集SOP、後端使用之程式工具、資料庫平台和為此所建立的此官方網站,都是協同合作下,逐步調整和修訂的成果。

路殺社的首要宗旨在於建構生態友善道路以改善野生動物路死現象(1.改善路死),並以此為據,進而衍生另外3個目標,包含推廣全民關心環境議題並加入科學研究的行列(2.全民科學),以減緩獲野動物路殺為初始議題,推廣民眾終身且實際參與環境學習活動(3.環境教育),建立所有物種生而平等、生命等值之觀念,鼓勵參與者協助撿拾和寄送路死標本提供典藏和研究,讓已逝的生命能發揮更大的價值(4.珍惜生命)。

                                      ​ ​

經過多年來資料的蒐集,有趣且可貴的是路殺社的資料大多分布在城市和近郊的淺山地區,並非國家公園、野生動物保護區、保留區或水源保護地等國家保護的重點區域,大多是普遍認為的生態已破壞區,換句話說,這些地點是過往認為不重要、較少受到關心的地方,生態資料極度缺乏,路殺社蒐集而來的資料正好彌補了這個研究空缺,甚至有許多參與者長期記錄後,才驀然驚覺,原來自家附近竟然還有那麼多動物努力生存著,其中還不乏特有種、保育類及稀有物種,只可惜卻從來沒見過牠們活著樣子。也因這樣的矛盾衝擊,路殺社成功吸引一大群原本只是默默關心,且不屬於任何實體之生態或環境關懷社團的民眾加入,讓這群生態關懷素人能起而行,投身成為科學資料貢獻者、環境議題關心者,並將觀念傳達給身邊的家人和朋友。

路殺社所蒐集的野生動物路死資料和標本,目前已是國內狂犬病疫情監控所需檢體的最主要來源,確實發揮其不可代替的價值,幫助國家節省鉅額的野外採樣和監控經費,是疫情監控和決策制定的重要依據(詳細訊息請參考我們的主題活動: 「狂犬病疫情監控」)。此外與動植物防檢疫局及屏東科技大學野生動物保育研究所合作,於2015年開始的「農地鳥類中毒事件調查」,透過疑似農地鳥類中毒記錄和檢體採樣的方式,找出作物與農藥種類危害野生動物之間的關聯性,將做為未來制定國內特定農藥使用規範的依據,降低環境毒害事件之發生。

未來路殺社將以改善路殺為主軸,透過蒐集所得的資料,找出路殺熱點、好發季節和受威脅物種,邀請每一分在地的力量,邀請民眾共同實際參與改善的工作(詳情請看「綠島奧氏後相手蟹拯救計畫」),讓民眾從認同和關懷自己生活週遭的環境開始,為自己的環境負責,而不再只是等待政府資源的投入,再者是與公路總局等開發單位合作,讓臺灣未來的道路都可以是友善道路,對行人友善、駕駛友善、環境友善,也能對生態友善,在每一個開發案前都能事先考慮周詳,而不再只是經濟唯一,事後才耗費精力補救。

延伸閱讀:

世界第一個用社群媒體蒐集路死動物資料的團體:路殺社

你是那個劊子手嗎?觀光客車輪下的動物亡魂